23.—Legislatures and Premiers of British Columbia, 1933-52, and Ministry as at Mar. 31, 1952

Legislatures, 1933-521

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of		
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution		
Nov. 2, 1933 ² June 1, 1937 Oct. 21, 1941 Oct. 25, 1945 June 15, 1949	18th General Assembly 19th General Assembly 20th General Assembly 21st General Assembly 22nd General Assembly	5 4 5	Feb. 20, 1934 Oct. 26, 1937 Dec. 4, 1941 Feb. 21, 1946 Feb. 14, 1950	Apr. 15, 1937 July 22, 1941 Aug. 31, 1945 Apr. 16, 1949 ³		

¹The Ministries from 1933-52 were: 22nd Ministry, sworn in Nov. 15, 1933, under the leadership of Hon. T. D. Pattullo; 23rd Ministry, sworn in Dec. 10, 1941, under the leadership of Hon. John Hart; 24th Ministry, sworn in Dec. 29, 1947, under the leadership of Hon. B. I. Johnson. ² Owing to the death of a candidate, polling day was delayed in the Electoral Districts of Vancouver Centre and Victoria City until Nov. 27, 1933. ³ Life of Legislature not expired at Mar. 31, 1952.

Twenty-Fourth Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election, June 15, 1949: 39 Coalition, 7 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation, 1 Independent and 1 Labour.)

NOTE.-See headnote to Table 15.

Office	Name		Date of First Appointment			Date of Present Appointment		
Premier and President of the Council and Minister of Finance Provincial Secretary Attorney General. Minister of Lands and Forests and Minister of Agriculture, Minister of Railways and Minister of Fisheries Minister of Labour and Minister of Mines Minister of Education Minister of Health and Welfare, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Minister of Trade and Industry.	Hon. Byron Ingemar Johnson Hon. William Thomas Straith Hon. Gordon Sylvester Wismer Hon. Edward Tourfellotte Kenney Hon. Henry Robson Bowman Hon. John Henry Cates Hon. William Thomas Straith Hon. Alexander Douglas Turnbull	Nov.	29, 5, 8, 21, 21, 29,	1947 1937 1944 1949 1949	Dec. May Apr. July July Dec. May	3, 4, 5, 21, 21, 29,	1950 1946 1945 1949 1949	

Subsection 11.-Yukon and the Northwest Territories

Yukon Territory.—The Yukon Act provides for a local government composed of a Chief Executive, styled Commissioner, who is appointed by the Governor in Council, and an elective Territorial Council of three members having a three-year tenure of office.* The Yukon Territorial Council performs much the same functions as do the Provincial Governments. The Commissioner is the counterpart of a Provincial Cabinet and the three members of the Territorial Council are the counterpart of a Provincial Legislature. The seat of local government is at Dawson, but the Commissioner acts under instructions from the Governor in Council or the Minister of Resources and Development at Ottawa.

COMMISSIONER

FRED FRASER...... Oct. 15, 1951

TERRITORIAL COUNCIL

(Members elected 1949, for three years)						
Dawson District	CHARLES J. LELIÈVRE					
Whitehorse District	R. Gordon Lee					
Mayo District	Ernest J. Corp					

*A 1951 amendment to the Yukon Act (15 Geo. VI c. 23) proclaimed in August 1952, provides for five elective members on the Council.